It’s finally here. Nearly less than 24 hours and I’ll be on my way to Spain via Paris! For some reason, I can’t help but think of John Denver’s song leaving on a jet plane: “All my bags are packed, (fit everything into 2 bags! Impressive, I know) I’m ready to go… Im leaving on a jet plane and I don’t know when I’ll be back again (technically in 6 months but who knows? I don’t).” This last week has been nothing but goodbyes, see you laters, and 6 months?…Seriously?! Even with the beautiful wedding of one of my best friends this last weekend, the end of the reception was one big goodbye to my college family. Bittersweet I guess is the word for it. As hard as it was, here I am, one day away from taking the biggest adventure of my life, getting giddy with excitement and anticipation. I mean who am I to complain about goodbyes when I’m going to spend a weekend in Paris and live in Spain for 6 months! I just can’t do it!

So, a lot of people have been asking me, “so what exactly are you going over there for? School? Soccer? Teaching?” Well, firstly, I’m going over to simply live; to immerse myself completely in the culture and language I have studied for the last 8 years. Because soccer is year-round, I never really had the chance to study abroad or go on vacation to a Spanish-speaking country. So, immersion is my first motive and priority. Now, contrary to many beliefs, my parents are Not raking in the dough with they’re teaching and nursing occupations. Shocking, I know. So I’ll have to find a job since I can’t live off my savings. In the beginning, I will most likely be doing private tutoring for English and/or math to bring in some income, and the more I get situated and comfortable with the language and culture I will hopefully work my way over to the wine region and wiggle my way in there. See, wine is a very big passion of mine, and the industry in which I intend to have a career in when I’m done playing Where in the World is Bree Rowe.  However, I don’t want to schedule or make plans right now, I want to experience, take chances, and go where life takes me (responsibly of course). As soon as I start planning, I tend to get stuck or tied down, which is the exact opposite of what I want. So, the plan is to not have a plan, which will be different for me, but different is good!

Well, that’s it for now. Just think, in 2 days I’ll be the female version of Gene Kelly in An American in Paris! Eeeeeeek it’s so exciting! Until next time friends and family 🙂

